More than good intentions- A Photo Journal.

When I last wrote, it was an icy January. Frost was settled on the windows of our maisonette and I was quietly seeking shelter and a time of reflection. My unborn son, Phoenix, was wriggling away in his womb cocoon as I looked ahead warmly, ready to welcome the changes this new exciting chapter had in store.

That was the 8th(?) of January.

Skip forward 3 months, and im writing from my bed at 5am, while my son is happily breastfeeding.

It feels like someone pressed the fast forward button, days and weeks have melded together, January, February and March have melted into big ice creamy puddle on the calendar. I have no idea how I didn’t melt along with it.

On the 9th of January, 5am, I woke up to my waters breaking 7 weeks early. My son, named Phoenix, eventually left hospital on the 30th of Jan. The time in between is a story for another day.

Despite the chaos, the endless days in hospital & the agonizingly long nights spent at home while Phoenix laid in an hospital cot, we also managed to complete a house move, and are now living in Portsmouth, a few miles along the coast from our previous forest home.

17 weeks since birth (a tiny 3lb 14oz!) he is a bouncing smiling boy of 12lb; Truly a Phoenix from the flames!

I’m still not sure how we got here.

2 completed goals on the intentions list; a new home and a healthy boy.

What I do know is it looked something like this:

Leave a comment